• Department Secretary chosen to receive ME Staff Recognition Award

    Eileen Chamberland, the Mechanical Engineering Department Secretary, was chosen to receive the BYU Staff and Administration Employee Recognition Award.

  • ME Students Successful at International ASME Conference

    Two BYU ME students, Clayton Grames and Tyler Lewis, were awarded first place at the recent ASME International Design Engineering Technical Conferences held in Boston, Massachusetts.

  • Dr. Tim McLain speaks before Congress

    Dr. McLain was invited to testify before the Small Business Committee of the U.S. House of Representatives regarding the influence of small business on the development of unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) technology in the U.S. and on the potential impact of UAS technology on the development of small business.

  • ME students win Tau Beta Pi Scholarships

    Tau Beta Pi, the national engineering honor society, announced the 264 Tau Beta Pi Scholars for the 2015-16 academic year. 7% of the nationwide total are BYU students, 12 of which are from the Department of Mechanical Engineering.

  • ME Projects Lab Supervisor given SAERA Award

    Nick Hawkins, Projects Lab Supervisor, was selected to receive the Staff and Administrative Employee Recognition Award. He was nominated for his innovation in improving the Projects Lab.

  • Four ME professors honored at University Conference

    Mechanical Engineering professors Larry Howell, Tim McLain, Carl Sorensen, and Dale Tree were among the distinguished faculty honored with awards at last week's University Conference. Each was selected for their outstanding teaching and scholarship at BYU.

November 2015

New Faculty Positions Available

The Department of Mechanical Engineering at Brigham Young University will be filling multiple faculty positions during the coming year and is seeking outstanding faculty candidates who will challenge an exceptional student body and contribute to excellent research programs.